Boards, Commissions & Committees

Click here for information about Standing Committees of City Council.

Art DedicationApplications for appointments to citizen boards and commissions beginning January 1, 2016 must be submitted to City Clerk Marie Copeland via email at or in person at City Hall, 1207 Palm Boulevard, no later than August 31, 2015.


The Planning Commission is composed of seven (7) qualified electors of the City who shall be appointed by a majority of City Council. All members serve as such without compensation. No member may hold an elected Public office in the City.

The terms of office for members shall be staggered two (2) year terms. The term of four (4) members shall expire on December 31 of each odd-numbered year. The term for the other three (3) members shall expired on December 31 of each even-numbered year. Any vacancy shall be filled for the unexpired term by City Council. Members may be re-appointed to succesive terms. The Commission elects one member as Chairman and one as Vice-Chairman, whose terms shall be for one (1) calendar year. The Commission shall also appoint a secretary, who may be an officer or an employee of the City or the Commission.

The Commission shall adopt rules of procedure and shall keep a record of its resolutions, findings and determinations which records shall be a public record.

Draft of Short Term Rental Program (PDF)

Beverly Ballow - Term Expires 12/31/2016  
Ron Denton - Term Expires 12/31/2015
Vincent DiGangi - Term Expires 12/31/2016
Richard Ferencz - Term Expires 12/31/2016 - VICE CHAIR
William Mills - Term Expires 12/31/2016
Lisa Safford - Term Expires 12/31/2015
Noel Scott - Term Expires 12/31/2015 - CHAIR
Douglas Kerr - Director of Buiding, Planning and Zoning 


The Board shall consist of five (5) citizens of the City, each to be appointed by a majority of council. The term of office of each members shall be for three (3) years, and until a successor is appointed and qualified. Terms of members shall be staggered. All terms shall begin on January 1. The appointments for each year will be announced by the Mayor at a special City Council meeting, to be held on the first Tuesday of January.

Meetings of the Board shall be held upon the call of the Chairman or at such other times as the Board may determine. The zoning administrator and the secretary of the Board shall attend all meetings and the secretary shall keep a record of its proceedings, showing the vote of each member upon each question or, if absent or failing to vote, indicating such fact.

Pete Doherty - Term Expires 12/31/2017
Carolyn Holscher - Term Expires 12/31/2016
Arnold Karig - Term Expires 12/31/2015 
Jay Leigh - Term Expires 12/31/2016
Glenn Thornburg - Term Expires 12/31/2015 
Douglas Kerr - Director of Building, Planning and Zoning  


City Council shall appoint seven (7) Citizens of the City to serve four (4) year staggered terms.

Whenever possible, the Board shall be composed of one (1) licensed engineer, one (1) licensed architect and five (5) members at large from the building industry. The Code Board of Appeals was established for the express purpose of providing for the final interpretation of provisions of the technical construction and related codes adopted by the City.

Robert Abel - Term Expires 12/31/2018
Thomas (Buzzy) Bramble - Term Expires 12/31/2018
Mary A. Carter - Term Expires 12/31/2015
Brian Garner - Term Expires 12/31/2016 
William Mitchell - Term Expires 12/31/2015
Ann Sherrill - Term Expires 12/31/2017
Alan Shoultz - Term Expires 12/31/2017
Douglas Kerr - Director of Building, Planning and Zoning


The Accommodations Tax Committee is an advisory committee that consists of seven (7) members, with a majority being selected from the hospitality industry of the City of Isle of Palms. At least two (2) of the members must be from the lodging industry and one (1) member shall represent the cultural organizations. Appointed members shall serve terms of three (3) years. APPLICATIONS  for funding (revised April 7, 2010) should be submitted to City Hall as far in advance of the next meeting as possible.  Applicants should read the Letter of Introduction.  Applications may be submit electronically to City Clerk Marie Copeland at or in hard copy to 1207 Palm Boulevard, Isle of Palms, South Carolina, 29451.

Malcolm Burgis - Term Expires 12/31/2016
Jim Covington - Term Expires 12/31/2016
Susan Haynie - Term Expires 12/31/2017 
Margaret Miller - Term Expires 12/31/2015
David Nelson - Term Expires 12/31/2016 - VICE CHAIR
Carol Rice - Term Expires 12/31/2016
Frances Russell - Term Expires 12/31/2017 - CHAIR


Commissioners of Public Works
John Ferrell
Curtis Helfrich
Jay Leigh 
Dana Love 
Nicholas J. Stroud